The Valley of the Kings

The Valley of the Kings is a valley located in Egypt that housed the tombs of the kings and other powerful nobles from the 18th to the 20th dynasties of Ancient Egypt.

Among the great people buried in the place include Seti I, Ramses II, Tutankhamun, Mentuherkepshef, Siptah, and Rameses I.

The walls within the Valley of Kings are predominantly coated with painted and sculptured scenes that describe the dead pharaoh in the presence of deities and gods of the underworld.

In addition, the area has become the center of egyptological and archaeological explorations with its burials and tombs stimulating public interests.

Currently, the Department of Antiquities has ingrained glass-screens and dehumidifiers to protect the tombs that were most-affected by distinctive phenomena.

The tombs have suffered major damages from floods, mass tourism, treasure hunters, friction, and carbon dioxide.

Science professionals found out that the humidity produced by each visitor has also affected the stability and relief of the paintings that were constructed on plaster laid.

Other than dehumidifiers and glass-screens, government sectors have also implemented a rotation system which only opens a limited number of tombs one at a time.

Normally, the entry ticket provides access to at least three tombs but, however, there are extra tickets available to see the tombs of Seti I, Ramses VI, Ay, and Tutankhamun.

Facts about the Valley of the Kings

  • The Valley of Kings was utilized for primary burials from approximately 1539 B.C. to 1075 B.C. It is comprised of more than 60 tombs starting from Thutmose I to Rameses XI.
  • The tallest tomb in the Valley of the Kings was created to serve as the burial place of the sons of Ramses II, who is considered as the greatest king of the 19th
  • Most of the tombs in the Valley of the Kings followed a similar pattern of a sunken sarcophagus chamber, an antechamber, and three corridors.
  • The Valley of the Kings is made up of two parts specifically the East and West Valleys. The East Valley is the place that houses most of the tombs in the New Kingdom.
  • The longest tomb in the place belongs to Queen Hatshepsut which reigned from 1472 B.C. to 1459 B.C.
  • The treasures that were found on the tomb of Tutankhamun can now be found at the Egyptian Museum in Cairo.
  • All of the tombs in the Valley of the Kings are made up of limestone.
  • The road leading to the Valley of the Kings is a gradual yet dry and hot climb so it is advisable to be ready most especially if you are riding on a bicycle. There are also tourist bazaars nearby which sell ice creams, snacks, and soft drinks.

What Did you Learn?

Who discovered the tomb of Tutankhamun?
Archaeologist Howard Carter acquired the rights to explore the valley and found the tomb of Tutankhamun in November 1922.

How many tombs are found in the Valley of the Kings?
Formerly known as the Place of Truth or the Great Necropolis of Millions of Years of Pharaoh, the Valley of the Kings consists of 63 exquisite tombs.

When did it become a World Heritage site?
Together with the Theban Necropolis, the Valley of Kings was recognized by UNESCO as a World Heritage site in 1979.

Who discovered the valley’s first tomb since Tutankhamun?
In 2005, a team of researchers spearheaded by archaeologist Otto Schaden discovered the valley’s first tomb since Tutankhamun.

It was located about 15 meters from the resting place of Tutankhamun.

Subsequently, the place was dubbed as site KV 63. While site KV 63 had no mummy, it housed materials such as flowers, linens, potteries, and sarcophagi.